Vegan Taste Tests Week 3

Sorry I missed a week, but I’m back now with new taste tests!

The first new thing I tried was a different flavor of Louisville vegan jerky. I loved the other one so much I ordered 2 more bags to try! As always, I ordered these from Thrive Market. My trial period for Thrive is now over and to be honest I don’t think I’m going to continue at this time. It is $60 per month for membership, and while that’s not bad if you’re going to get everything through them, I just can’t justify spending the extra money right now.Photo Apr 08, 1 29 04 PM

The Review: I’m sure you can tell from the photo, but this style is not “saucy” like the BBQ version I had before. Not that that’s a bad thing. This is actually more the texture that I would expect from a jerky. Even better, it’s not as tough and doesn’t hurt my teeth to bite like traditional jerky sometimes did. The taste is definitely there though. There’s a nice smokey flavor with a bit of a kick.

Rating: 8/10

 

The next thing I got totally on accident. I think the brand is “Hi, I’m Skinny?” Weird name for a brand, but these Quinoa sticks are highly addictive. I normally get veggie chips from Walmart & the last time I got grocery pick-up order they substituted this. I was skeptical at first because I thought they wouldn’t have much flavor, but these are amazing!

Photo Mar 31, 5 29 05 PM

The Review: First off, I love the fact that I can find these at just about any grocery store. Points for that. They are super low in calories but high in flavor, so they are perfect for when I’m feeling “snacky” and want something with a crunch and some salt. They’re hard to describe, but I would definitely buy again.

Rating: 9/10

 

Can we talk about how amazing it is that Ben & Jerry’s is making vegan ice cream…and that it doesn’t taste bland or crappy?! Picked this up at Publix, but I think most grocery stores (besides walmart) carry this.

Photo Apr 09, 4 34 51 PM

The Review: You can taste the almond milk a little if you know what you’re looking for, but mostly this is a perfect substitute if you’re craving ice cream. I love the crunchy almond brittle bits…and of course caramel is a big weakness for me. In short…if these sound like good flavors of ice cream to you…you will love it.

Rating: 10/10

Next…a bonus! this is something you can pick up when you’re on the go. Super healthy, pretty & easy. I don’t know about you, but I don’t always have time to prepare food (even a salad). I don’t do this often but when I have a ton of  work sometimes I just want something I can grab & go. Picked up this superfood salad at Publix, including dressing. So good!

7/10 because they used kale & I just prefer spinach, but it was still yummy!Photo Apr 09, 11 01 02 AM

Leave a comment